SUNSHINE AND SHADOWS

We have been looking after grandchildren overnight and I went out into their conservatory this morning, fully intending to take a photograph of one of my daughter-in-law's beautiful orchids. I think it is probably fair to say that I lavish more attention on them than she does - and I don't think (or I hope) she won't mind me saying that! When we are staying, I water them, talk to them, prune them, then leave them - and they flower beautifully and seem to thrive on the occasional treatment from me.

However, as I turned, I saw the metal wall sculpture with the sun shining on it, but with shadows behind on the wall. It is so unusual to see the sun these days, so I decided this would be my blip for the day.

It made me think that life is a bit like that and has been for us during the last few days. As a family, we have "pulled together" and things are better - we have also been grateful for the prayers of many friends all round the world.

One of the things I did notice after I had taken the photograph was what I perceived as the name "Liz" on the triangular piece of metal at the top right and this reminded me of a fellow blipper (you know who you are) who is also going through a difficult time and having to make many adjustments - so my prayers are with you this morning.

"Keep your face to the sunshine
and you cannot see the shadow.
It's what sunflowers do.''
Helen Keller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.