A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The witch's bridge!

Had a short walk with Wendles56 around Goit Stock this morning. Still not feeling 100% but it was good to get out.

We spent a lot of time watching a pair of Dippers near the waterfalls. I have seen them there before. Wendy had her long lens with her so I'm sure she will have got a decent shot. I did get them on three shots near the upper falls and I can see them as I know where they are but not sure how easily any one else would!

At the top of the gorge you come to the hamlet of Hallas Bridge, and this is the bridge across Harden Beck. I used to live on the far side of this bridge at Hallas Farm and we always knew this as the witch's bridge and as children we were terrified of crossing it.
Under the bridge to the left is a cave which we believed was the witch's home. In reality it was part of the cellars of a mill that used to stand here. In this shot you can see a lovely garden that has now been built where the mill once stood. The garden belongs to the mill in the background which was still a working mill in my childhood.
Goit Stock is a lovely wooded valley but in the 19th century it was lined with textile mills powered by the water.

If you are interested in trying to spot the Dippers have a look at the penultimate 3 shots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.