RogMull

By RogMull

Doctors at large..

This is Pathhead Medical Practice building in Kirkcaldy. It is a short walk from where I live, which is very convenient.

The doctor I favour in the practice dresses just as you would expect of any duck-keeping crofter. His style is very relaxed, but also keen to communicate openly and accurately.
He doesn't fit the traditional image of a GP, and I like him all the more for that.

I am very interested in the health of our nation, and indeed my very good friend Alex Neil is the current Cabinet Secretary for Health and Wellbeing in the Scottish Government. (We are fellow Ayrshire boys and have known one another for 40 years!)

Research shows a strong correlation between poor health and poverty. Also of interest to me is it shows too a strong correlation between educational attainment and health - an issue often ignored in health debates.

I am very pleased that In March 2006, Scotland was the first country in the UK to enact a ban on smoking in public places. This has resulted in a significant reduction in smoking related diseases. Scotland has also led the way in developing ambitious proposals to tackle harmful drinking by legislating for a minimum unit price for alcohol. Whisky lover as I am, I thoroughly approve of this!

We all at times rely on our health service. It sometimes attracts a bad press. But I for one support the protection and development of a health service free at the point of need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.