Fire

The day dawned cloudy and wet as usual, but by about midday it started to clear and the sky turned an unlikely shade of blue. I was emboldened to take a walk at the beach.

In addition to the attraction of the beach on a sunny afternoon I was drawn by a slight case of morbid curiosity. A few days ago in the early morning (about 04:30} a fire broke out in the basement of a restaurant down at the beach. The fire spread to an adjacent restaurant and a couple of other businesses.

Nobody was injured but substantial damage has been caused to the building, which I think used to be a theatre long long ago before its conversion to restaurants. I used to go there for dinner sometimes when it was Harry Ramsden but have not been there since it changed to Jimmy Chung.

There were several other people besides myself displaying the same curiosity and the police are still in attendance. The road remains closed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.