Culture Vultures

Now this will shock people who know me well...I went on a tram today! It is almost a phobia for me to travel on buses and I've never been on a tram before, but today Carole made me travel on one. I have say it wasn't too bad....I still hate buses though! There were posters apologising for work being done at Victoria Station dotted around and someone with a great sense of humour has designed it...Bear With Us Whilst We Make Victoria Posh...ha ha ha, love it. We did the park 'n' ride from Eccles and went to Manchester Art Gallery. Neither of us had ever been round it before and we had a good old mooch.

There was an exhibition by Joana Vasconcelos, but as it was £7.50 to visit that section we gave it a miss. Fortunately, there were lots of her pieces dotted around the other displays so we saw quite a bit anyway. Most of it was abstract designs through various textiles and it was big, bold, bright and colourful.

On the way to the tram station (never thought I'd write that) we nipped into the Town Hall. Through a gate we spotted a Victorian looking cart with Rat Catcher emblazoned on the side. As I was was trying not to get my nosey head stuck in the railings and man sidled up, "Interesting scene isn't it?" I agreed. He then told me that it was all set up in readiness for a film crew arriving next week. Ooooh how exciting....it got even better though as it is Frankenstein with Daniel Radcliffe...I think I will have to go back to town next week.

So our little culture trip continues...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.