Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

In Post-Op

I heard her say, "I see here you asked to have your picture taken in post-op.  Let me find your camera."

Wow!  I was thinking to myself.  I didn't even have to be totally conscious to ask this time around.

Then it was, "Let me make you look better.  We'll take the breathing tube out first." I heard, 'Cindy, would you come and take care of her breathing tube for me, please?'  She went on, "that surgical cap has to go."  She reached over and swatted at my head. Then she straightened my hair! This was quite the production for a post-op nurse.  

"Okay, say cheese!"  
I squeezed out what I thought was a huge grin.  

The surgery started at 7:30 am and this photo was taken at 10:37 am.  I had already passed through the primary recovery room, so this is where I was supposed to be coming "out of it."  I made it home by about 3:00.

Pretty painful but I know it's going to eventually go away, probably within a couple of weeks. I might even be driving in a week.  Pretty amazing stuff considering the surgery is on my cervical spine.  

I've said it before but I'll say it again...losing another two disks without anything in the spaces to replace them might just make me a bobble-head.  So look for springy selfies in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.