0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

“We set up a studio space in town, handed out flyers and cards, and invited girls to come have their portraits taken.”


I can’t remember how I came across the ‘Saturday Girl’ project initially. I think I may have seen a flyer about it, or it appeared on my feed at some point. Ever since I became aware of it, it was in the back of my mind so today I decided to drop in to the Gallery Munro House to see what they had on.

I wasn’t expecting the photographer, Casey Orr, to be there but it was a nice surprise and I took the opportunity to speak to her about her work and the project.

Casey is a photographer, researcher and senior lecturer at Leeds Met. University and the ‘Saturday Girl’ project is a series of portraits of young women in Leeds, as seen through their hairstyles.

I explained how hair colour was often something which caught my eye on the street and I usually tried and capture people of that nature for HOL. She was glad I mentioned it and found that an interesting point, as it had so much cross-over with her project I guess.

Casey was happy to pose for a picture, next to some of her work in the gallery. The portrait on her left hand side is one of my favourites so I got her to stand next to that. It was slightly daunting to take a portrait of an established photographer such as her. I’m hoping she likes it, I didn’t dare show her my results at the time!

Although the exhibition started on Monday, they are having a launch event tomorrow with a couple of bands, the members of which are girls who’s portrait Casey has taken as part of the project - a nice tie-in I thought.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.