Ruffled Kookaburra at Sunset.

Tonight I had four kookaburras on the clothesline, one being my tame old friend Larry, waiting as I put out the mince for their dinner, when the most unusual thing happened.....Larry, my gentle, hand-fed, Larry, chased one of the birds from the clothesline, down the back yard, and attacked it!

When Larry came back for his dinner I had a few words with him (as he gently took the meat from my hand!) Really, how can such gentle, sociable birds suddenly attack? I have never seen such a thing before today. But you can't interfere with nature, there must be a reason why one bird was shooed away.

After the other birds had all eaten, the poor ruffled attackee arrived back at the clothesline, all alone, feathers askew and seeming very wary and timid. I hope he managed to grab a morsel or two. Poor thing was so timid that he even let the Noisy Miners bully him!

Poor baby...... :(

He does look very pretty though, don't you think, silhouetted against the sunset sky, ruffled feathers and all?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.