stujphoto

By stujphoto

Field of Light

I wanted to pick something celebratory for my 500th blip and thought that the Field of Light in St. Andrew’s Square in Edinburgh might give me the opportunity I needed. I had been aware from comments from other blippers that it is not easy to create a decent composition for this installation from ground level but did not have choices of shooting from above unless I had got permission to shoot from the upper floors of Harvey Nicks. The problem area is the foreground as the lights tend to look a little sparse when you are close to them. I’ve tried to overcome this problem by merging several shots and this also gave me the chance to create a multicoloured scene as the lights pulse with different colours over time.

I find the wires, which reflect the different coloured lights a bit distracting but did not have the time or energy to do anything about this in post-production after creating my glowing “500”.

I will say a little more about the significance of this anniversary for me tomorrow and for the moment will bathe in the celebratory joy of reaching 500 continuous blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.