Glassman

By Glassman

Godfather of Sugar!

Today I found myself spending my lunch hour in Greenock Cemetery doing grave rubbings on paper(As you do!)
On my way back to the studio after an hour there I stumbled upon the plot of Abram Lyle,the Lyle of the famous sugar dynasty Tate and Lyle.
He was a Greenock man who never forgot his roots ,and shared much of his fortune with the people of Greenock .
The famous Lyle Fountain ,which stands at the centre of Clyde Square was given to the town as a gift and there are many geographical reminders of his legacy -Lyle Hill and Lyle Street being a couple of examples.
Thankfully I had one sheet of paper left and was able to gather a graphite rubbing of the stone which is flanked by other members of the Lyle family.
Tomorrows sandwiches will be consumed at the cemetery again ....weather permitting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.