Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Canal statues, Camelon

Today was definitely one of these 'sunshine & showers' days. At times, bright and sunny, albeit with a biting cold wind, and at other times just wet and windy. But it looked for a while as if I might get a dry walk for once. It wasn't to be, however.

Thought I'd stroll along a stretch of the Forth & Clyde Canal at Camelon. I was in Falkirk this afternoon anyway and so I parked at the Union Inn and headed off.

First stop was the three statues at Lock 15 - from left to right Dr Harold Lyon (expert in palliative care), Reginald Adams (swimming coach, timekeeper and judge) and Robert Barr (founder of the company that makes Barr's Irn Bru) - and then started to stroll down to the series of locks at the former Rosebank distillery.

Never made it past Lock 15, though, as the sun turned to rain and then very quickly to hail. Thankfully I was only about 200 metres from the car, so a quick dash back in the face of some very sore hailstones and just delighted that I had at least something to put in my Blipfoto journal for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.