Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Time

Today is all about time. Today is blip number 364, my penultimate blip in my first series of 365 blips. Where has the time gone? So much has happened in the last 364 days. I'll save more comment about this until tomorrow, Blip day 365.

This is an 18 shot focus stack image of some of my watches. On the left is a watch my Dad gave me. When I was little he always referred to it as his 'Atomic' watch as it didn't need a battery or winding up. Only years later when he gave it to me and I looked at it I realised it was an Automatic watch, and not nuclear! But still to this day it is known as the Atomic Watch. In the centre is my current watch, and on the right is the watch my parents gave me for my 21st Birthday.

I will now leave you with some more words from Pink Floyd about the passing of time. This is perhaps my favourite Floyd song.

Ticking away the moments
That make up a dull day
Fritter and waste the hours
In an off-hand way

Kicking around on a piece of ground
In your home town
Waiting for someone or something
To show you the way

Tired of lying in the sunshine
Staying home to watch the rain
You are young and life is long
And there is time to kill today

And then the one day you find
Ten years have got behind you
No one told you when to run
You missed the starting gun

And you run and you run
To catch up with the sun
But it's sinking

Racing around
To come up behind you again

The sun is the same
In a relative way
But you're older

Shorter of breath
And one day closer to death

Every year is getting shorter
Never seem to find the time

Plans that either come to naught
Or half a page of scribbled lines

Hanging on in quiet desperation
Is the English way

The time is gone
The song is over
Thought I'd something more to say

Pink Floyd

Sound and Visuals

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.