carliewired

By carliewired

A Day of Ups and Downs

Bad news and good news
comes in turns. I would prefer
to be watching birds.

~ carliewired

While so much of the US has been deep in cold and snow, here in Arizona we've had more than our share of moisture over the fall, followed by above average temperatures in midwinter. Consequently, we are enjoying a lot of blooming, in the desert and in planted landscapes. My yard has a lot of colour right now. Peeking over the back fence I see the neighbour's ocotillo is in full bloom at the base of their flag pole.

I started the day in conversation on the telephone with someone in my local home improvement warehouse. In December 2012, they installed counters in my little house. Now I find the laminate on my kitchen counter is separating. I am told that the one year warantee is now gone. The little lady asked me if I left my air conditioner on when I returned home for the summer. I asked her if she was kidding, then added that there isn't a snowbird in Arizona that leaves their air conditioner on for 6 or 7 months while they are away. She assured me that she'd have the contractor call me and that he would probably offer to repair it for a cost. I assured her that if counters are coming apart in a year (while the ones I had removed had lasted more than 20 years without failures) it was either faulty materials or faulty installation. I was adamant that I would be taking it up with the contractor, most assuredly!! (No call yet!)

D began work on installing the hall closet doors. We'd purchased a set of mirrored doors with a frame and tracks. It happens to be 2 inches wider than the space provided. D called various phone numbers trying to find someone who would cut the aluminum track for him. Nothing! The next option was "Let's go buy a saw!". So, after a stop at our favourite barbeque restaurant, we arrived at the local home improvement warehouse one more time. D surveyed the stock of 'chop saws' while I gaped at the prices. Fortunately, a very nice clerk came by to sort it all out for us. She directed us to an attachment for the electric drill that will cut metal. I very much appreciated the $7.00 solution!

Spring is in the air. Returning home we noticed the mourning doves on the brick wall. Many have been congregating in our yard. No doubt they like the feeder on the ground. They are all displaying their courting behaviour most enthusiastically these days. These two were settled in together. I think it's a match.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.