Alberta

By Alberta

Fish ...

We did a last long cycle ride to the ‘other side’ over the bridge and back on the ferry. Few tourists go here and it is a very Muslim area so I am very conscious of what I wear. I always wear long trousers - even that is unusual there and I had a sleeveless top on today which I was very conscious about but it is so hot and humid I just didn't think I could cope with being too covered up. I was right. It was more humid than ever and when we got back there was a huge downpour the first big rainfall like that we have seen since we arrived here 3 months ago.

Because it is so unusual to see a non local on the other side the greetings we get are many and enthusiastic. I sometimes think that we use up as much energy on the wavings and greetings as we do on the cycling. Anyway we went to another great breakfast place and had Poori and Kadala curry (chick pea curry) .. delicious. We promised to come back in November. We have such a store of wonderful little places now that we will return to.
There were big waves last night. We could hear them crashing on the shore. We may go for a walk on the beach at dusk today. The rain has cooled the air a little and there is lovely sea breeze.

The photo is of the fisherman unloading their catch by the side of the ferry port. There is an endless stream of small fishing boats handing over their catch in plastic laundry baskets (well that is what I use these baskets for) to the local auctioneers. I could not see what all the fish were but some of the buckets had giant prawns and last time we were here they were selling 40kg for 17000 INR which is about £170 …

Alex has kept the air conditioning off and is recovered from the ‘flu’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.