Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Doh - Its Behind You!

The first clear starry sky in ages enticed me outside to try my luck with some long exposure blipping. I was also keen to try out a fish eye lens that a friend in the camera club had given me a loan of.

Lots of reading up first before heading outside to establish the the right settings and remind myself where all the appropriate buttons were on the camera. Nothing worse than fumbling around in the dark and cold trying to set up a shot!

Got a few shots before I became aware of some thin cloud moving in from the north west. Tried a few shots looking almost straight up but still catching the lights from the houses in Waterfoot and a boat in the river. On reviewing them I could see a reddish glow near the edges and put this down to some aberration with the lens. Indeed, when I loaded them into Lightroom I decided there was a problem with the lens and ditched all the blips with red or green light amongst the thin cloud.

Only when I watched the news later in the evening did I learn of an amazing aurora borealis that he been visible in many parts of the country. Then I checked Facebook and there was a post from someone in the village saying the northern lights were putting on a tremendous show over the Kilbrannan Sound about 8 o'clock, just when I was out blipping! Had I read the post at the time and headed round to the harbour I may just have got the blip of a life time!

All I could do was upload the blips again from the camera and look in awe at what might have been. In my defence, the hills behind our house hide the northern skyline, although I can't help wondering what I might have seen had I looked to the north!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.