Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Dark and Deep

It was a wonderful day to travel up here to the Gulf Islands with sun and some fog. We were delighted to arrive at our cabin and see that the power was ON! after being off for 4 days after last weekend’s snowstorm. We were told the marina dock was still full of snow yesterday, but today it was almost clear. Took a walk around our property but all we saw were LOTS of large and small branches down (glad we weren't standing under a few of them!), probably from that heavy snow. So all is well , the larder is full, the frig and freezer have been cleaned out a bit (good thing we don‘t eat meat, but I did have to throw a bit of other stuff out...)the bird feeders are full, no big trees are down, the internet works, the lights are on, and we’re almost warm. Supposed to change back to winter tomorrow.

I was hoping there would still be more snow in our woods as I was thinking Robert Frost . This is about it.... If it snows more tomorrow I might have to change this one....

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

MY little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there’s some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.