Rumbling ice

Let me first thank you for the stars and comments for my blips lately - very warming and kind from you. It really has kept me going through the dark wintertime!

Today we were walking on clear ice of the Mallasvesi -lake. Teens are playing further on ice - as you can see - yet on a safe area. Icy cover was still thick here, some 15cm, but clearly it had started to get weak already: through the ice you could easily see faults and that the ice is not all solid and clear any more, but slowly tikkuuntumassa as you would say in finnish (unfortunately I can't find any proper word for it in english).

As all the snow has melted from the town, the ice cover of the lake was also bare from snow and kept hard noice, kind of rumbling sounds as thin but long ice-faults were cracking - almost like a sound of distant thunder. Normally the rumbling sounds are much weaker, as there is 30-40cm snow on the ice. Now the sound felt even a bit scary to me...

However some of the poople were skating on the middle of the lake! The feeling is like flying near the sky - I have heared. Fortunately it is impossible fo me to try: My knee (that I hurt on december on my way to work) keeps me off from skates.

Nevertheless I could land on my stomach on ice and take this nice shot. Hope you like it and have one of the best weekends youselves!

+2 today, partly sunny (thank heavens) after a LONG cloudy period.

Susanna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.