The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Abberd Fields

In search of a blip late on this afternoon I had driven up Anchor Road and into the cul-de-sac Low Lane. I'd only ever gone up this road once before and not found anything of interest, but this time I continued up a rougher track, past a couple of farm entrances, until I came to a corner beyond which vehicles and pedestrians were banned, and parked. I was only 1.8 miles from home but was somewhere I had not been before. A cycle path extended ahead so I went along it to see where it went. It was boggy and flooded in parts and I was in the wrong shoes, but my curiosity encouraged me to persist. I soon came to a gravel workings, which I realised must be the ones visible behind the Honeyball recycling centre, near Compton Bassett.

The Lansdowne Monument is a visible landmark all around Calne and is just visible behind a tree on the horizon of this picture, and the Cherhill chalk white horse can be seen to its left (go Large). Both have featured in many previous blips.

I think I was technically still in Calne, and as I continued along the cycle path, the adjacent Abberd Fields Farm swung into view to my north, with a massive amount of solar panels covering several fields, so I imagine Abberd Fields would be the local name for the area.

It was an unglamorous but fascinating walk and I may explore it again in better conditions later in the year.

L.
1.3.2014

Blip #1194
Consecutive Blip #056
Day #1433

Alternatives:
Machinery
Gravel Pit Workings
Solar Energy Farm
Cycle Path

A Footpath Walk Through Abberd Fields, 25 February 2014 Lozarithm (Flickr set)

Lens: Pentax 17-70 mm, Pentax 55-300 mm

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Blondie - Fade Away And Radiate (1978)
In honour of Blondie being awarded the NME Godlike Genius Award. This B-side of Picture This was written by Chris Stein and featured Robert Fripp on guitar. It was included on the album Parallel Lines.

One year ago: Smokey 1633 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.