Apothecary

By Apothecary

Waterfall 2

As part of my As photography exam, our topic to research and experiment with is "the elements". This meaning; Fire, Earth, Water and Air.

For my fire part, I made a shoot with the subject as smoke. Pictures soon.

For the water part, I wanted to do either two things; A black and white hand portrait with water being poured over, or a Waterfall landscape picture with a long exposure. I decided to do the flowing water shot. Because Royston is not known for its waterfalls, I travelled to Hitchin to shoot a weir.

For this shoot, I was constantly changing the exposure time from 1 second to 1/500.sec . This was my favourite from the shoot. The settings that I used were; f/22, ISO-100, 1/500.sec and a 15-80mm lens. I later taken the photo and edited using Gimp 2.6.

I really love the deep colours of the surrounding vegetation and how I've captured a clear view of the mid, fore and background. Not bad for a first time at shooting waterfalls I think, well worth getting my feet cold and wet.

Comments please - they really help :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.