Catbrook

By Catbrook

... the floods are coming

oooh I like the floods. Yes, yes, I know it's terrible for people with houses/businesses that get flooded... except for places like the King's Arms which makes money out of being 'the most flooded pub in York' and can get away with having a cement floor and half-hearted decoration.

I just remember being a kid and seeing water where water shouldn't be and thinking it was brilliant. A fantasy world where benches 'lined' the middle of the river, and steps that once lead onto cobbled streets, now decended into murky water. I seem to remember my mother spurring this sense of the bizarre on by making some kind of 'someone must have left the bath taps running' type comment. REally!? THe batH taps! WOwwWW!

The river only burst its banks yesterday - I'll be interested to see how high it gets this year.

So, I've had a bit of an absence from blip ... and I've come back to see that it's only gone and won a BAFTA! Huge congratulations to the team and well deserved!!!!!

Amongst other things, I've been wrapped-up in learning Spanish and have finally finished my first proper Spanish novel, 'Nada' by Carmen Laforet. I've always loved reading and 'imagining worlds' and being able to do so in a foreign language gives me immeasurable pleasure. It's a bloody good job it does, because the main reason I've been studying Spanish so much didn't work out. Never mind, I'm not defeated yet!

I've done backblips of a beach in Northumberland, an angry sea at Seahouses, and the Angel of the North if you can be bothered to click back three times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.