suehutton

By suehutton

Sunset Over Gibraltar Point Visitor Centre

Just had to get out today after being huddled up over a computer all week. I underestimated how long it would take to get to Gibraltar Point Nature Reserve on the Lincolnshire coast. By the time Basil and I reached the car park, the sun was already sinking in the west, and there hadn't really been good light all afternoon. The car park was due to close at dusk, which I reckoned was within the hour.

Basil and I trudged off to the dunes laden with two cameras hoping to see the sea. Not that it made any difference. I did poorly today with blur and uneven exposure on all my shots. Just a few pink tinged clouds over the sea and much more saltmarsh than I remember from 2006. Silt and sand eroded from elsewhere is being deposited here.

This photo was striking inasmuch as it shows the sunset over the visitor centre which remains closed following the storm surge in December. There are 3 porta-loos and a refreshment van but the visitor centre remains cordoned off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.