Information Out Of The Box

After my quest to find the red telephone box graveyard yesterday I've become interested in them.

I've learnt that the one I togged yesterday was an early K2. It is bigger and heavier than later incarnations and the "Tudor Crown" is picked out in perforations for ventilation. George Gilbert Scott the designer, who was also responsible for Battersea Power Station, was inspired by the tomb of architect Sir John Soane for the domed roof design.

I read that the people of Toot Hill, near Epping in Essex have bought a K6 design from BT, restored it and turned it into a village information point, complete with a seat, where visitors might sit to eat a packed lunch.

At least it was something nice and bright to photograph on a dull wet day. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.