The Wild Rove Beetle

I have been dodging the storms today. I was desperate to tog bugs so between the showers I scanned the south-facing wall.

I photographed some zebra spiders and spotted this minute rove beetle, which when I first saw it was sporting a huge water droplet on its back. I guessed that's what it might be when the feisty little thing curled its tail up threateningly at me when I tried to manoeuvre it into its mossy garden with a blade of grass. Its much bigger relation, the Devil's coach horse, curls its tail up like a scorpion too.

I was fascinated by a video I found showing how the beetle folds its wings underneath its tiny elytra using its tail.

I have spent some time trying to find out the derivation of 'rove' and in doing so have turned up and enjoyed singing "The Wild Rover" and "The Maid Of Amsterdam." "A roving, A roving, since roving's been my ru-i-in." :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.