Land of Enchantment

By Laurel

Our Lady of Guadeloupe

This is one of many retablos of Our Lady around New Mexico. This one is in Los Poblanos where we held Science Cafe.

So this is a landmark blip. I started the day I joined a digital photography class at University of New Mexico. My teacher, Pat Berrett showed us the Blipfoto site and I was bowled over by how elegant the site is. I have shared with many, many friends since then.

It has been a great way of learning about photography and about myself and my surroundings. I have enjoyed seeing parts of the world I may never be able to visit. I have learned what photos can do and shared with people I only know from their pictures.

The first year i became a member I set out to post a photo a day. I almost made it! I got to the end of the year and found i had missed one day by mistake. Bummer! I even lost the photos i took that day. What that did was give me permission not to post a photo everyday and I have been doing less and less as time goes on.

This is not because I am less interested, but because so many things tend to crowd me out. I still see my world in photos, though. When you take photos every day you see pictures everywhere you look. You compose, you edit and you see contrast and shadows in a new way.

Some of my favorite photos have been done by R Murang. I loved watching little Larkyn grow up as my neighbor (her mom) gave us a private glimpse. I love visiting Skye, and Symi and Brazil. The faces in Challenge have given me new ideas about the people i meet and the photos by Max Ellis and his family have given me new ideas of what a photo can be!

Thanks everyone who shares their visions and for letting me be part of this big wide world.

xoxoxox
Laurel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.