The Great Horned Owl

It was a day of seeing rehabilitated birds. First...the travelling exhibit that shows up at the areas craft shows. A couple of owls, a hawk, and a kestrel. Then it was on to S.O.S. (Save our Seabirds.) They not only help shorebirds, but also cranes, owls, loons, and eagles.

The only problem? Large enclosures, but small fence material that make it hard to photograph them.

The center was having a festival to help earn money for their efforts. A craft show with many photographers, painters, and sculptors. So much talent...so many things I would have liked to buy. The piece I wanted was a 6-7 feet high bronze pelican...about ready to land. 3200 dollars. I told the artist that I was going to start collecting pop bottles.

2 of my kids arrived here in Florida (from Michigan) at 7:30 this morning. 1,260 miles...straight through...in about 22 hours. WAY too much driving for my old bones.

A few other of the injured birds are on my FLICKR PAGE. Sad, but the center is doing their best to help, and to return them to the wild.

Lisa and I just returned from watching a concert. The Brown Family. 3 "kids" (18, 24, 28(?)) singing with their mother. They are very good, both in singing and playing their violins. Very moving, very motivating.

Gives me hope for the next generation.

I might be slow to comment this week. A lot of company means more people to use my laptop, but I will eventually catch up.

Watch this VIOLIN VIDEO of the 3 Brown kids in a professionally made music video. HINT: Make sure you stay until the end. It is a slam-bang and stirring finish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.