Imagerie

By vicki43

#2 Chatoyant

DDW March Challenge #2 Chatoyant

Chatoyant, having a changeable luster or color, has been used to describe things including taffeta, silk, dragonflies, gemstones, birds such as this mallard here, and peacocks, sunsets, and reflections on water. From the 18th century French verb chatoyer, to glimmer like the eyes of a cat.

This mallard was grooming on a water-swolled area in the field in front of my office building. The light on the left is from a reflection of a road side sign on the chatoyant waters. This time I had bread in the car, so the two ducks I saw on my quick trip to the office were happy to see me on an otherwise desolate campus.

Chatoyant Quote:
I managed to move sufficiently to see at the top, as I fired up the stairs, the yellow face of Dr. Fu-Manchu, to see the gleaming, chatoyant eyes, greenly terrible, as they sought to pierce the gloom.
Sax Rohmer, The Insidious Dr. Fu-Manchu, 1913

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.