Imagerie

By vicki43

#3 Apogee and When You're a Stranger project

DDW March Challenge #3 Apogee (and When You're A Stranger)

Today I had 'apogee' to consider, along with getting the "When You're a Stranger" disposable camera in the mail. I needed to take a picture of a stranger with the disposable and also with my camera, so that I could post it here. I received the camera from Scribbler, took the shot, and tomorrow, I will send it off to the next person in line.

Wondering what to say about apogees and strangers to go along with the stranger photo I needed to take, I searched them together online and one of the first things that came up was a magazine called Apogee Photo with an article titled "Portraits: 7 Tips on Approaching Strangers for Photographs." The seemingly random connection that Apogee had to photography and specifically photographing strangers was remarkable considering it neatly addressed both challenge and project.

There is a fully interactive installation called #picturemethere by Jessica Bonin and James Reisen at the college's art gallery. Several different backdrops line the walls and props lay nearby. Perfect place and timing for me to take a stranger shot since the artists encourage us to take photos posing in front of the various hand-painted scenes.

I had no idea who might be there and possibly be willing to pose for a stranger. With Apogee's tips in mind, I approached the young gallery attendant and asked if she would do me a favor, explaining the project. Janinie was happy to participate and chose the backdrop and prop you see her with here. We were the only ones there for the time it took to get the picture and chat a bit. Thank you, Janinie, for being such a kind stranger and beautiful model for this challenge and project.

Apogee's Tips for Photographing Strangers

Information on the art exhibit

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.