Imagerie

By vicki43

#4 Supernatant

DDW March Challenge #4 Supernatant

Some synonyms for supernatant are airy, bouncy, afloat and floating. According to Webster's, its origin is as follows: 1655-1665; <Latin supernatant- (Stem of supernatans), present participle of supernatare, to swim or float above. It an be used as an adjective or as a noun.

I had a 9-hour work day with little time to take pictures, so I was happy to see this supernatant on my way to class. I had just enough time to greet, snap, and race off before the students started wondering where I was. I've told them that f I am ever 10 minutes or more late for class, they have the right to get up and leave to do something better with their time. Fortunately, I was only a minute or so late this morning, so all was well, and I've never been more than 10 minutes late in 30 years. It does give them hope for me to give them the potential opt out, though. :) As for this supernatant mallard, he happened to be tooling around in the pond at just the right moment today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.