In the early morning light

I went out for my run later than the last couple of days; I figured that I'd taken enough sunrises recently, and I enjoyed the longer sleep. Headed away from the beach along the road through farmland.

In a large paddock by the road were a couple of pukeko (swamp hens). When I approached the fence, they began squawking, then twitching their white tail feathers, and one of them intermittently flapped its wings. They spent a lot of time in the shadows cast by the low sun, and I was fortunate that this bird chose to stand still long enough for me to get a decent focus on its head.

Impressive large

Spent the morning on emails and stuff. After a late lunch, I drove north to Whangarei while S headed south back to Auckland. I'm leading a team that tomorrow will be reviewing the educational experience gained by newly graduated doctors at the local DHB services.

Then back to Auckland tomorrow afternoon/evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.