Primroses

Yesterday's visit to the garden centre included the purchase of a container of primroses for planting out. Primroses and primulas provide wonderful early spring blooms in almost every colour of the rainbow. I chose this pinkish selection. This morning as I sat enjoying my grapes and muesli in the warm sunshine on the sheltered patio I decided to capture them in their current state of perfection against the backdrop of the brilliant sky. This was not so difficult as I balanced the container on a right-angle bend on the railing and shot from a low angle.

Although primroses prefer cool temperatures, they thrive in full sun in the spring. They need partial shade at the height of summer but I've never been very good at overwintering them and enjoy splashing out on some healthy new plants each year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.