Have a nice daye!

By Su5hma

Farewell

Lots on my mind for most of the day today but then with the plans for this evening I can see why.

It was Sarah's memorial tonight at Glasgow University's Chapel - it was clear that the loss hasn't really hit the family yet but that allowed her mum to give us a really lovely 'eulogy' of her life along with the not so nice part of the struggles she went through over the past few months - and her sister had the strength to tell us a great story about socks!

We were all asked to light a candle, take some snowdrops (her fav) and enjoy some Tunnocks caramel wafers (Sarah used to work at Tunnocks) and some mince pies made with mincemeat that Sarah had made herself. While this was going on some of her favourite music was playing and there was a slide show of photos of her.

Whilst it was nice to catch up with some people I hadn't seen in years - it was a horrible reason to do it - Sarah was full of life, always thoughtful with a well formed opinion on any conversation I had with her (made me feel a bit like I needed to go do my homework sometimes!) and at 26 was too young to leave us. I just hope she is happy and her suffering is over where she is now.

Thoughts and prayers are still with her family and I think for a long while to come whenever I see a snowdrop I will think of her.

R.I.P Sarah

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.