Little Kiwi on an Autumn/Wintry Day

An inside day today and a day for all things warm.

On waking my head felt like it was exploding as a vicious mirgraine took grip, slowly I steadied myself and managed to get some meds then returned to the comfort and warmth of my bed for a few more hours.

When I eventually rose, hubby had a lovely hot cuppa waiting for me, quietly I sipped with my hands wrapped around the mug, warming my cold fingers and feeling the hot drink slide down my throat - it felt so good.

Meanwhile an icy wind was engulfing the house, howling from corner to corner creating the house to creak and the windows to shudder. Branches of trees were vigorously swaying from side to side with a little twirl in the middle. My dahlia's were twisting round and round, up and down then quietly laid to rest until another gust wrapped itself around them. I held my breath as my new little maple in my gazania bed swayed round and round, it is exposed and I really thought I would hear a crack but so far its held its ground.

The intended flight path for birds has been a bit hit and miss as strong gusts have flung them around, most had taken shorter flights between trees and properties. The sky is dull and grey with just a little lightness as clouds pass on through, there has been no sun today. Snow flurries are forecast along with rain and hail, I've never known autumn to arrive with such vengeance, or perhaps its taken a little side step as its more like winter today, a far cry from the beautiful sunrise of last Saturday.

My heart goes out to all who are flying, sailing or driving as today is not a day to be travelling, instead its a day for all things warm in the comfort of our homes. I quite liked the wee kiwi draped over its egg on the top of hubby's coffee - can you see him, the kiwi that is :) It was just a fluke, not happened before and may never happen again - it had to be my blip today.

Thank you for your encouraging words, stars and hearts for yesterday's mono image of mums tomatoes, I'm thrilled it hit the spotlight page :)

Happy Tuesday everyone :)

Edit: Temperature 6C, 2000 without power, flooding, wind gusts up to 130km/h
and more tomorrow - bit grim for the arrival of autumn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.