Drip

DDW's March Vocabulary Challenge Day 4 : Supernatant

Supernatant. Its a word from my past. A word that I used often for a long time, but now it is a forgotten word, which I never utter. I remember it from my days in the lab. I was forever spinning things down in one of the many centrifuges and then either discarding or keeping the supernatant. I had always thought it was the liquid left over from a precipitation reaction, but I see now that it also means something floating on water. In this case it is a drop of rapeseed oil on water.

It was lovely to have the company of HV with me this morning on the early dog walk, before I trundled off to fit a hot water cylinder, spending more time in a windowless room. Back there again tomorrow to move some pipes which someone else routed across the loft hatch...

Back home and then out for a quick visit to the lovely Emmy, before heading home for a dram and fabulous roast dinner.

I am pretty sure HV is wife material... ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.