todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Generally speaking..

Isn't this a beautiful old building? Normally, a building so fine would make me want to go inside.

Not so this one. Some of you might recognise this impressive, commanding, red sandstone structure as the old Southern General Hospital in Glasgow. I become less keen on hospitals the older I get.

I was there tonight to see my opposite number from work, who has just been diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes. I'm happy to report he is being well looked after and still smiling.

Generally speaking, a building's intended use often dictates how it looks on the outside, as well as in. I wondered what the architects and their client were trying to impress upon us 100 or so years ago when they designed and built this hospital.

I asked my husband - an architect fortunately. Unfortunately, by the time he comes home from work he's had quite enough of buildings for one day. He was too tired to tell me.

They're building a brand new super-hospital on the same site. Massive, ultra modern, totally different on the outside from the old one.

I wonder what they're trying to impress upon us now... ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.