todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Learning, Hoping..

I was invited to Strathclyde University in Glasgow this morning to debate some of the big questions in Education with first year students. And a very interesting morning it was too.

My chum, a Dr. in Sociology, teaches at Strathclyde, so we arranged to meet for coffee after. As I walked up to the impressive Lord Hope Building, where she works, I was struck by the atmosphere. How aptly named.

Lots of students chatting noisily, books and laptops over their shoulder, scurrying to lectures; the sun lighting up their faces and the beautiful buildings and the sense that this is where it's all happening.

For my own higher education, I didn't travel the traditional route - I studied with the wonderful Open University - juggling work, studies and parenthood for six long years.

As I shared in their learning today, I felt slightly envious for the journey those first year students are undertaking.

Spring, the sun, the hope, the enthusiasm to learn, the exchange of knowledge, the beautiful buildings. What's not to love...

Someone once said 'a school is a building with four walls and a roof. And tomorrow inside.' I wish I'd written that ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.