Mayhem and Mess

What an awful time Christchurch has had with the bad weather. People's homes, property and vehicles have been damaged with the high winds and rain and there's been heavy flooding in parts of the city, particularly near the Port Hills. I've never seen the roads so flooded, in parts completely closed. The rivers are way up too.

I've got a pole house and I can't decide which was worse, the shaking in the quakes, or the vibration and rolling in the winds, which were up to 140km around Banks Peninsula. There's a cellar under part of the house, which is now flooded, even though the house is on a slope; that's bizarre. What's even more bizarre is that one of the doors got sucked outwards, hinges, screws and all; I found it lying on the ground. And maybe even more bizarre - the red rubbish bin was lying a 1/4 of the way up the drive! Yep, UP the drive. I'm glad I wasn't out there when all that was going on. No wonder the house was rocking and rolling.

This image is an accidental multiple exposure. I'm blipping it because I think it sums up the mess and mayhem very well! I'd forgotten that the camera was on that setting - LOL

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.