Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

Silent.

I was a little spooked coming in here. The building was no more than a shell in a field with pigeons nesting in the eaves. When I crept in they startled me as they flew out one after the other, creating such a disturbance that I felt sure the roof would come down. It was this organ that pulled me in. Driving by somehow it caught my eye through the broken window and I had to go and have a look. It must have been a hall of some kind, a meeting place. There were hooks on the wall to hang your coat and proper pews, the wood soft and decayed. And standing in the far corner of the room the organ. Unrepairable now but it would have been a beaut in its prime. All polished wood with beautiful engravings down the side. I pressed a few keys but it made no sound. Silent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.