WhatTheJules

By WhatTheJules

Bountiful Lunch

I drink at least two "green" smoothies per day. Because the hunger trigger was surgically turned off in my body about 11 years ago, I can go an entire day forgetting to eat. That is really not good for all kinds of reasons.
To solve this problem I have turned to the easiest to digest (with no use if my duodenum and missing 2 feet of small intestine I suffer from malabsorption... Have we gone over this?) most nutrition packed meal I could think of: The Smoothie.
The smoothie should not be confused with juicing. Juicing uses just the juice if a fruit or vegetable as the name implies, this removing the very important fiber containing (and nutrient rich) skins. With smoothies you use the whole item for most fruits and vegetables. I don't use orange, banana, pineapple peel etc. peels.
I have a medication alarm that reminds me to take my pills three times per day. The first two times per day I use that alarm to remind me to eat. I cannot eat until one hour after my morning medication so I will either prepare the smoothie to the point you see here, or remove a frozen smoothie portion I have already prepared from the freezer.
Each ingredient is carefully logged into an app called Calorie Counter distributed for free by About.com. What is important to me about this app above the calorie count (because I rarely can eat all of the calories required of me... Never hungry, remember) is that the app keeps track of each vitamin and mineral (as well as fats, sugars, alcohol and fiber) in the food to keep me mindful of what I am short on. Looking at that helps me adjust what goes into the next drink.
I believe strongly that we should be getting our vitamins from food, not supplements. I try to go over all of the requirements due to my issue with malabsorption, but if I can't then it's vitamins to the rescue.
The only supplement I take without fail is magnesium citrate, as it helps with anxiety and assists with certain digestion issues that being on large daily doses of narcotics can cause.
The smoothie you see here contains the following:
2 cups of mixed greens
1 banana
1 cup if blueberries
½ cucumber with peel
2 rounded teaspoons of "Calm" magnesium powder that has a berry flavor
2 cups of water. (When not using calm powder I use unsweetened almond milk, the calm fizzes and has a lot of citric acid which does not play well with dairy and dairy substitutes)

This took about 2 minutes to totally liquefy in my NutriBullet. There are a few tiny tiny bits of either the greens or the cucumber peel, not sure and it's fine. It's rather thinish as opposed to those made with fage yogurt or almond milk.
I get hints of the banana, but the calm powder is the strongest flavor.

Now my afternoon meds followed by a totally unwilling nap.
Ciao!
Jules

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.