World Book Day

Thank you, Kath, for reminding me.

In these days when it is so easy and quick to research online, we might be tempted to forget just how useful it is to browse, think and enjoy the pleasures of the book.

I love travel. I love to find out about places and visit them, and then find out more.
I love bringing back souvenirs that will remind me of the fun and the beauty and the interesting cultures out there to be explored.

I tidied up the lounge a bit and put some of the volumes on the sofa, along with the cushions covered with (light) items brought home with me.
My pure Damask on the left (from the souk in Damascus, a place I fear I will never see again, and whose people are in my heart)
The now ragged embroidered cover from Santorini (Sparkie does snag this one rather a lot)
My new Indian silk, bought in Agra (with the Taj Majal on it - true cliché but I still love it)

And the books .... at the heart of this blip.
Yes, it's easier to pack a Kindle or an iPad - vital equipment - but for the gentle pleasure of pondering where to eat, what to see, what happened in the past, and how to get from place to place, there is never going to be a replacement for the joy of holding a wonderful book.

But don't worry, Sparkie. I know you're not keen on "Gap years for Grown ups".....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.