Marquicks by the Sea

By KarenMarquick

My name is not Karen Dimmock

Yesterday I set myself a goal to tidy the front garden today, so after dropping Oliver at preschool Issy and I picked up our tools and began the challenge.

This flowerbed under our front window was full of weeds and covered in leaves from the trees across the road. We have barely touched the front garden since we moved in last August, so this tidy up was well overdue.

It was backbreaking work, but I've achieved my goal. A weed free flowerbed now topped up with fresh compost and planted with a few shrubs and flowers.

Husband was amazed when he came home from his hospital appointment and saw how much work I had done. He made a joke about a certain female gardener and enquired whether I was wearing a bra! After a giggle he then broke the news to me that he's on the list for hip surgery at long last - his arthritis is significant in his right hip, so he will have a hip replacement in approximately 18 weeks.

Anyway, I now have three huge bags of leaves and weeds to take to the tip, but at least next year husband will be able to help out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.