Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Three Bargains!

Three bargains today, so that can’t be bad!

The first bargain was paying a £100 fine for not displaying a current tax disc. This might not, on first reading, sound like much of a bargain, but it’s my understanding you get the £100 fine if it’s a week or so out of date. Ours was 10 months!! So we definitely got our money’s worth.

Found the receipt for it, dated May 2013, but no tax disc. Rang the DVLA and they said, ‘Oh, that was returned to us in May 2013’. Why?? So we had paid for it, and it didn’t turn up, but of course, ‘Where is the new tax disc?’ never enters your head again.

Paid the fine by phone, trying to explain the oversight. Silence on the other end. ‘You don’t really want to know, do you?’ She laughed and admitted it was irrelevant - she’d heard it all.

Also popped into Poundland. Got a door draught excluder, identical to the one I got in a well known DIY store for £19!! I had to stop myself asking that it was, in fact, £1 when I got to the till. Also got a bag of licorice, which at Lakeland costs a fortune, but it was - yes - £1!

Bit of a random wander in the Museum today, but we saw -
the biggest example of scrimshaw in the world
the biggest ammonite in the world
the biggest amethyst in the world

Maybe not all the biggest, but pretty large… We had a wander round minerals, and saw a piece of talc. Yes. Talc. It’s a rock! Albeit a very soft one.

We had a good look at the Qurna Burial, discovered by Flinders Petrie (love that name). Probably the most important burial exhibit outside Tutankhamen. But maybe don’t take my word for that… I was drifting off by then.

S & L popped in this morning, L to give me advice on converting my bike shed into a wood shed. I had planned to drill it with millions of holes. But L suggested a row along the bottom front, and top back, which will give sufficient air flow. Sounds quite sensible. But not as much fun.

And all quiet on the Western Front upstairs last night. Truth be told, it normally is. I blame the City Cooncil with their ‘door slamming’ enforcement. Hopefully the chap was there today to render the doors less ‘slammy’.

I loved these two… I don’t think I was spotted...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.