If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Greystoke Castle.

While obviously not a Castle in the true sense of the word it is always known as "the castle". The castle stands in what was (and probably still is) the largest walled enclosure in England. A wall or the remains of it runs right round the estate.

Another big step forward today. Firstly CC was happy that I would manage whatever walk I attempted on my own with out coming to grief. She was going to our friends workshop to discuss some photos a client wants made into greetings cards so I escaped.

The question was what to do with my new found freedom. It didn't take me long to decide. While the castle and land isn't open to the public there are a number of permissive paths through the estate. I used these a lot while I was still walking reasonably. Not least as one of the routes I sampled for the BTO Atlas. So I set myself the target of walking to a particular road junction and back. This gave a round trip of a mile with about 400 yards uphill. I managed this without a problem and at a more reasonable walking speed. No ill effects have been felt yet.

So today's offering is a view of the castle from the road I was walking, just as it was starting to drizzle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.