If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Skiddaw from near Ouse Bridge.

The morning started with meeting the plumber at the Lodge to discuss a repair we need, and a little more gardening.  Home for lunch and a bit of a relax before leaving for  a meeting at the Hundith Hill Hotel near Cockerrmouth.

Knowing time would be limited I started out for Cockermouth early to allow time to stop and take some shots while it was still light.  Ever since childhood I have been visiting the shore of Bassenthwaite near Ouse Bridge o I naturally headed to a little car park there.

It was as they say blowing a hooley and quite cold.  My first shots were of Skiddaw and then some swans round near the bridge, a pair and a couple of last years Cygnets.  The mo8untains won so here you have left to right Skiddaw, Ullock Pike and Dodd.  (I have always known it as "the Dodd" but the Ordnance Survey the arbiter of names just calls it Dodd)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.