By the Seaside

We've been to a funeral in Portsmouth today and after the wake we went for a walk along the beach and seafront in Southsea. We were hoping for a spectacular sunset which we didn't get but the light was quite interesting. I like the figures at the left hand side as they seem rather Lowryesque.

The funeral was for my Mom's cousin who died a couple of weeks ago aged 94. We used to stay with him and his wife when we came to Southsea for family holidays when I was a child. This was the first time I've had to sort of represent Mom and Dad at a funeral. A significant time. I met lots of relatives I hadn't seen for quite some time and found out lots of family things I'd never known. The funeral was interesting as it was a spiritualist one.

It has been an enervating day all round - in a strange way. Premier Inn for us tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.