Go Penguins

If I'm honest, I'm a bit ambivalent about these things. On the whole, I tend to approve of public art. I get a kick out of seeing things that cause a reaction, that get people to look at their surroundings and to appreciate their environment.

Liverpool had the Go Superlambananas last year, which were great. People really engaged with them and there was a real sense of loss when they were all gathered on the plateau outside St George's Hall for one big "Goodbye".

Somehow, I just don't think a good idea, no matter how good it was the first time, can work as well the second time around. The penguins are supposed to be a comment about global warming. Fine and laudable, but they don't say anything about Liverpool. And that's the issue.

For the record, this one is Mr Memory, on Hope St.

There are a few more on flickr - here, here and there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.