Flowers for Aynil

This is an amazing story of the connections we make and how important they are. I have never met Aynil, but I read her journal and admired her photographs. She lives in Istanbul, a city I visited once in 1980 and to which I have always wanted to return. Seeing her wonderful pictures was the next best thing to going back. I subscribed to her journal and she returned the favor. She shares her life and her culture with her subscribers in such a lovely and open way, that I look forward to reading her journal.

On February 25th she published a charming wedding portrait of her parents, prompting, I suspect, much searching through basements, attics and old photo albums.
Then the pictures, and her sweet comments, stopped. I missed her pictures and her comments on mine, and wondered where she was.

Today she published a picture of herself in a hospital bed (looking quite beautiful, I might add), and the story of disabling headaches and visits to three different doctors before a brain angioma was diagnosed. She had surgery yesterday and is recovered enough today to post her story.

Welcome back, Aynil, and I add my wishes for a speedy recovery f to those of people from around the world. These flowers are for you. You have touched many hearts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.