Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Doing too much. Eating too little.

It's been a long, long day. Up at 6.00 am for some serious knuckling down to the job that's been hanging over me for far too long. I'm really lucky to have such patient clients who are prepared to wait and wait and wait. I can't really blame this general lethargy on the weather, can I? Whatever the reason, I've found it really hard to settle down to work over the past several weeks, and even today, full of the best intentions to finish this job off, it's still incomplete just after midnight.

I need some rest now, even if it's only a couple of hours. I'll set the alarm for 6.00 again, or maybe even 5.00. Things are 85% complete as it stands, and I could get that up to 90% in time for the client's start of business if I stick to the getting-up plan. But I mustn't make the same mistake as today. Tomorrow I really must have at least one substantial meal to help keep the creative juices flowing. The only break today was a short trip (with camera, of course) to the local shop for essential groceries. That's when I spotted this discarded empty carton, left in the laneway by a very neat litter lout. There it stood, neatly perched on its concrete step, listing its healthy ingredients as if to taunt me. I wasn't tempted. Milk is okay, but milk with chocolate? I don't think so. My can of Minestrone soup was much, much better than that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.