Life Uncommon

By lifeuncommon

Thankful

After a busy Friday and Saturday - during which I celebrated turning 30 amidst many of my favorite people, but somehow neglected to pick up my camera at any point during the festivities - we enjoyed a pretty quiet Sunday together. Lots of getting-ready-to-start-the-week chores, but also lots of down time relaxing by a crackling fire.

The kids and I did a craft project we call our "thankful tree" - where we arrange branches in a vase, and then adorn them with leaves made from paper and ribbon. On Thanksgiving Day, we'll invite our guests to each write something for which they are thankful on one of the leaves. This was a project my Mom began with the kids last year, and when we unpacked the Thanksgiving decorations, we found all the paper leaves and got to reread our 2008 blessings, which was a blessing in itself. A and I decided at that point that this should be an annual tradition - and so today we constructed our tree, now serving as the centerpiece on our dining room table.

We also enjoyed the movie Up, and had a dinner picnic in front of the fire. Such a cozy day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.