Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

'The Weekender'

A visit to Ikea this morning for what (I am assured) is the last item of furniture needed. A small shelving unit thingie. It will replace a nice 'corner' chair which we’ve had for years, but evidently it does not fit any more. Not to worry, we foisted it on our visitors today - luckily they only live round the corner.

Mind you, I was happy - nay - delighted to go Ikea. The promise of breakfast is too tempting. I must say, a six piece breakfast for £2.25 is Very Good Value. But we had 'The Weekender' - a nine piece feast for 50p more! I got double baked beans instead of a tomato, two hash browns, two sausages, two bacon. And a bap. Is that nine? It certainly was enough.

I did have a bit of a struggle eating my customary two (quite small) ice creams which I have to have as a reward for making it through the Marketplace. (And I wonder why my jeans seem a little tight…)

Here's an idea I might put to the politicians: Why not get Ikea to do our school and hospital meals? We don't seem to be able to do cheap nutritious meals that people enjoy eating. But they certainly can. It was mobbed.

Called in to see my friend the Horny Highlander. He was scratching his chin on the barbed wire. Which reminds me - I found my back scratcher.

The shelf unit was made in about two ticks - much the easiest flat pack I've had for a while. Just finished in time for the Ireland/Italy match.

Our pals came to watch the Scotland/France match on our BIG TV. She is French and he is Scottish. It would have been nice to beat the French, but we gave it away. C’est la vie.

PS Comments still off - having a breather - but looking in on journals and sprinkling stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.