Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Primula Bill

Well, that's a first.

We visited Dobbies, that wonderful emporium of flowers, books, garden furniture - you name it. Normally I always visit the cafe (first) - they have the biggest scones in the land. Today I did not avail myself of them.

Diet starting? Heck no! I was keen to get back home in time for the rugby.

We had gone to ask about our back lawn, which is a bit yellowish. I think it needs feeding. Or something. But not till spring proper. JR got a thermal undergarment for the forthcoming holiday, which will be hot and cold. No more clues.

I was hanging around the wee potted flowers, trying to snap unsuspecting folk in the background, while pretending to take the flowers. Suddenly there was a voice behind me.

'Did you know that there are two types of primulas?'

I just stopped myself from admitting that I didn't actually know they were primulas.

Bill - for it was he - sensing a receptive audience, plucked two flower heads, pulled them apart, and explained to me about the 'pin head' and the 'thrum'. I don't know how many times I asked him to repeat the two words, and I intoned them all the way home in the car, lest I forgot. In fact, it took me the whole journey to internalise that they were primulas, and not begonias or petunias, which have the same number of syllables. I am no gardener.

Bill has apparently travelled the world with his horticultural knowledge - having spoken (horticulturally) in New Zealand and Canada. He's certainly a treasure, and obviously enjoys his job.

Don’t worry about me missing out on my calorie intake - we had warm Ikea cinnamon buns for afternoon tea. The diet starts tomorrow.

PS I have been missing all the banter of your comments. But I’m finding it hard to keep up with replies. So I’m going to try giving up replying to all every day, but I will look in on everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.